The Auto-Extend Payment Plans is a feature that each provider must opt into before being able to access it. With this feature any bills that come on to the account are added directly to the payment plan. It keeps the same payment amount but will increase the number of payments that need to be made. Please note that once this feature is turned on, it will affect all Payment Plans for the provider.
Once the system has added the bill to the Payment Plan, you will be able to track it through the Payment Plan log on the account page as it will have an entry for the extension. This entry will show both the previous number of payments and the current number.
In addition to this the patient will receive an email notifying them that the terms have changed, which can be located in the Comm Log.
It will also shorten the payment plan if a bill is removed from the account, but it will do this by marking the number of payments the amount totaled to as paid. There is no entry to the Payment Plan Log or Communication Log entry for the shortening of bills, only extending.
If you want to be able to track how many Payment Plans have been extended and the details, you can also run the Auto-Extended Payment Plans report.
Please Note: If this is enabled, when an account is extended it will keep the same payment amount but increase the number of payments. It will not take into account the normal guidelines.